73 comments on “Sleep Well, My Sweetest Nairobi

  1. So sorry for your loss Chico… And no, I don’t find you silly for anthropomorphizing your pets. They are a part of the family as any human.

  2. Chico, I feel you. I have 5 shih-tzus and the eldest is already turning 9. He’s still as strong as an ox though, but thinking about him being gone someday makes me feel so weak. Just remember that all dogs go to heaven and I’m sure that Nairobi is still guarding you and keeping you safe from where she is. *HUGS*🙂

  3. 😦
    Nalungkot ako dito Chico… naisip ko na darating din sa akin na mawawala yung anak-anakan kong shihtzu, si Sasa.

    Sleep Well Nairobi!

  4. I’m so sorry for what happened Chico. I too am a dog lover and I feel your pain. You’re right, losing someone dear is very hard but we must try to move on. Be strong for those who are still with us.
    Sending lots of love & hugs!
    ChamSangil

  5. Aww, Chico, I’m so sorry. And I had no idea this was happening from how you sounded when we were talking to you yesterday during the feed.

    Losing my dog is one of the things I dread most. Whenever my dog turns a year older, the joy is always mixed with fear coz I know that’s another year less with him. And before owning a dog, I never thought I’d be one of those people to anthropomorphize them. They ARE family. So I can’t imagine how devastated you must be.😦

    You’ll meet her again, I’m sure. I’ve always said that if heaven was truly a place of pure joy, light and love, then there’s no reason that our dogs wouldn’t be there.🙂

  6. Sad to hear about Nairobi, nalala ko tuloy si Loren our big labrador dOg, he died last year and sobrang sad talaga ako nun, and until now naiyak pa din ako… At tumutulo luha ko now. 😦 sabi nila “all dogs go to heaven”. She’ll be watching over you🙂

  7. very sorry for your loss Chico. I think everybody can relate to what you’re feeling. She is now happy and pain-free. Praying for you and the your other babies.

  8. My condolences, Chico.😦

    I’m deeply moved when I read this and I literally cried. I understand your grief since our family also have a shih tzu named Pillow. She’s considered as the youngest member of the family. She gave birth a month ago to her first set of pups (she had five), and we were all crying during the delivery because we saw her in pain. I couldn’t fathom how much more we would react *knock on wood* if she comes to a similar state of sickness in the future. But then, we would all have to let them rest, free them from the pain they’re suffering.

    You still have Cairo and Siam with you, keep them closer.🙂

  9. this morning, my mother woke us up by saying that our dog Ocho died. it is also heartbreaking. di na ako tumayo sa kama kasi iyak na ako ng iyak. kahit less than 3 months pa lang siya sa amin naging close na ako sa aso namin. T_T

  10. I know how you feel, Chico. I lost two of my dogs in less than a year – our very first family pet, Tanya who was a Shih Tzu, then our GSD, Hershey. It was very hard to accept, it is until now actually. It took us months to get over them,especially Tanya. We’d wake up in the middle of the night dreaming and crying about them. It felt like every ounce of laughter and happiness was a betrayal to their loss. It seemed like being happy meant betraying them because they might think we could survive without them. I learned the hard way that life had to go on, that all i should think about are the happy memories because Im sure thats how they want us to cope with the losses.

    Im sorry you had to go through this. Just like Nairobi, Tanya too, was more loyal and faithful to her human family than her own (she left behind a daughter & a partner). On those days that you feel down, just remember how she made you smile. Be strong.

  11. Aww, Chico, I’m so sorry. And I had no idea this was happening from how you sounded when we were talking to you yesterday during the feed.

    Losing my dog is one of the things I dread most. Whenever my dog turns a year older, the joy is always mixed with fear coz I know that’s another year less with him. And before owning a dog, I never thought I’d be one of those people to anthropomorphize them. They ARE family. So I can’t imagine how devastated you must be.

    You’ll meet her again, I’m sure. I’ve always said that if heaven was truly a place of pure joy, light and love, then there’s no reason that our dogs wouldn’t be there.🙂

  12. We’re really sorry for your loss. I’ve experienced seeing my beloved dog slowly dying in front of my eyes, too. There are no words to describe the feeling of losing a loved one, specifically your loyal and trusted friend.

  13. my heartfelt condolences. when we lost cuervo, our lab, i cried and felt really bad. we got bella, our schnauzer, now and things are good. your siam & cairo are still there to keep you company.

  14. sorry for your loss Chico…
    our pets are part of our family and i know how difficult it is when they go.
    just think.. she’s running around with the other dogs in heaven, watching over you =)

    sleep well Nairobi… i just know you will be greatly missed

  15. I’m really sorry for your loss chico. I know how it feels to lose someone, human or not. At least hindi na sya mahihirapan…

  16. I know how it feels. My most beloved yorkie died 7yrs ago… I still dream about him til now. But i believe in heaven and although some may say that they have no souls, a friend once told me that God could not had created something that could give and receive love and yet not give them their own little version of souls. I believe that Nairobi is in a better place now, i hope that can comfort you even just a bit. =)

  17. Just this side of heaven is a place called Rainbow Bridge.

    When an animal dies that has been especially close to someone here, that pet goes to Rainbow Bridge.
    There are meadows and hills for all of our special friends so they can run and play together.
    There is plenty of food, water and sunshine, and our friends are warm and comfortable.

    All the animals who had been ill and old are restored to health and vigor; those who were hurt or maimed are made whole and strong again, just as we remember them in our dreams of days and times gone by.
    The animals are happy and content, except for one small thing; they each miss someone very special to them, who had to be left behind.

    They all run and play together, but the day comes when one suddenly stops and looks into the distance. His bright eyes are intent; His eager body quivers. Suddenly he begins to run from the group, flying over the green grass, his legs carrying him faster and faster.

    You have been spotted, and when you and your special friend finally meet, you cling together in joyous reunion, never to be parted again. The happy kisses rain upon your face; your hands again caress the beloved head, and you look once more into the trusting eyes of your pet, so long gone from your life but never absent from your heart.

    Then you cross Rainbow Bridge together….

    Author unknown…

    • Chico– my deepest condolences for your loss.

      My husband and I lost our first pet, a 10-year old British shorthair cat last January after a couple of weeks in the hospital. It was so heartbreaking when we left him confined while we had to take a weekend trip out of town. But he waited for us. A few days after we got back from our vacation, we lost him. I treasured the comforting words from family and friends who understood what my husband and I were going through… but for others who did not “get it”, it was okay, too. To each his own.

      We live in a place without a backyard, so our veterinarian kindly referred us to a pet cemetery. Our cat is now buried in a pet cemetery complete with his own headstone. We were given a paw print set in hardened clay that we keep at home.

      The Rainbow Bridge story gives me hope each day– knowing that we will meet again someday. I stumbled on the story when I was searching on the net about pet bereavement. Yes, there is such a thing as pet bereavement. It has been more than 2 months but I still shed tears for my dear little boy.

  18. Chico, I’m sorry for your loss. My chihuahua also got sick last week and was confined for 2 1/2 days. He’s with me now and is doing better. He is in 14-day medication though. Several dogs in my building got sick too, as well as all 3 of my friend’s dogs in Manila. Even the Animal House in Jupiter had lots of in-patients & out-patients during the time my chi was confined. I’m just wondering why so many pet dogs suddenly got sick last week…

  19. I’ve had to bid good journey to a number of furry little companions before and I must admit that the losses are never the same. Each parting always hurts. I try to keep in mind the cartoon All Dogs Go To Heaven (but apply it not just to dogs but to all animals) so it comforts me and brings me a little peace of mind. I hope you can find solace in your other two dogs.

  20. sorry for your loss chico… each loss is really different.. but this is one love i know is always worth it..

  21. sorry for ur loss. I still feel pain when i remember losing my dalmatian. nairobi is in a better place now.

  22. Sorry for your loss, Chico. I know it’s inevitable that our furbabies would have to leave us. I don’t think I’ll ever be prepared for that day.

  23. Sorry for your loss Chico. I am not one of those animal/pet people myself because I am allergic/asthmatic. However, my family (of origin) for some reason had always acquired pups, and I would be the one to take care of them most of the time. And it’s really hard to let them go if they get sick. I know its doubly hard for you as you treat your pets like babies. Just like everything else that is painful but real, take it one day at a time…

  24. I found myself in tears while reading this…. I also have a dog and I don’t want to imagine going through this. Sorry to hear this Chico… and thank you for that wonderful story which made me realize how precious my little Pororo is. I’ll spend more time with her starting today. I’ll cherish every moment we have…

  25. Losing my dog is one of the things I dread most. Whenever my dog turns a year older, the joy is always mixed with fear coz I know that’s another year less with him. And before owning a dog, I never thought I’d be one of those people to anthropomorphize them. They ARE family. So I can’t imagine how devastated you must be.

    http://goo.gl/Lc0j4

  26. I feel your pain. . . I cried while reading your post. I remembered how it felt losing our dogs. Such never wracking raw pain! Nairobi is in dog heaven looking after you.

  27. My deepest condolences, Chico… Your heartbreaking post reminded me of my own pet, a cat whom I lost last year, and still mourn to this day. This line turned on the waterworks… “Every memory of you is painful only because they were so joyful.” So true…😦

  28. I feel the same way too! now that I’ll be having my own pet dog by mid April, I can’t help but realize that we love our pets the way we love a family member, friends, relatives.

  29. Awww this post made me cry as i remember losing my dog more than a year ago. He had 16 years with us. It’s really true that no matter how much you ‘prepare’ yourself to loose a beloved pet, it’s still devastating when it happens. Mine was ‘bed-ridden’ for maybe his last yr with us. We literally had to carry him to pee, feed him every meal ( that we cooked just for him), use the dropper to feed him gatprade…. we never left him, literally someone has to stay home everyday just to be with him. On his last morning, he ‘waited’ for me to get up then finally closed his eyes. I still weep when i remember him.

    It’s not gonna be easy. But hey, i’m sure your dog’s in a happy place watching over you. All dogs go to heaven.

  30. condolences…i had a dog, she my baby girl and she just passed away as well last month. I know how sad you must have felt. Dogs are not just dogs. They are family.

  31. This is really heartwrenching. I have read this quite a few times and I cry every single time. I do feel your pain Chico. So sorry for the loss of your beloved Nairobi.

  32. i can’t help but cry, Chico. I know how bad it really feels when it’s goodbye for our dear dog, there’s no turning back.

  33. It’s always hard to lose someone, be it human or not. I still feel sad remembring my “panganay” Binky who passed away 2 years ago. I miss her everyday. All dogs go to heaven, yes, and hopefully someday I’ll be with her (and my other deceased dog friends) again.

  34. A heartfelt article; it made me realize a lot of things. I sincerely thank you, Chico, for writing this inspiring feature but more than that, thank you Nairobi.

  35. crying lady tuloy ako ngaun..reading this at the office..haaaaaaay!! I feel for you..same feeling when our zhi tzu died last january..it’s really unconditional love that they gave..oh shoot! can’t stop from crying…mas iniyakan ko p aso kesa sa tao…

  36. hi Chico..just visited your blog and read about your heartbreaking loss over Nairobi:( i can’t help my tears because i feel for you…i grew up in a family wherein pets are truly part of the family…each birth is rejoiced and every single death is mourned….. some people may find it difficult how and why we can mourn in such manner for our pets…but what they don’t understand is that they can give such unconditional love…..they may not speak in words..but the way they’d look at us already speaks a thousand words of their love and affection for us…!!!! i still remember all the pets we’ve had..and each gave us loving memories that i’ll forever cherish and hold dear in my heart….Nairobi is now in Rainbow Bridge…:)

    • thank you for the nice words. it’s really hard to get over, especially now that we’ve gotten her ashes. it’s like a second wave of grief.

  37. I cried upon reading this and thought about my dog right away. I want him to live a long life. Long enough that he would see and play with my kids and be their first pet. So touching Chico. I felt your pain.

Leave a Reply

