154 comments on “Earth Hour 2011

  1. It’s largely symbolic; but I think it’s such an IMPORTANT symbol.

    And in my opinion, anything that makes us think — I mean, really THINK — is a wonderful thing!

    Thank you for the reminder.
    🙂

  2. Agreed. But one should also turn off cell phones, laptops, Kindles, Nooks, etc. We are a wired world. Turning off a light for an hour is easy. Can you turn off your wired gear for an hour, too?

  3. Pingback: Earth Hour…and beyond. | Hero Mobile Cafe

  4. Hi, there Chico! I totaly agree with you…it’s better to do something than nothing..we will be observing Earth Hour in our office tom….Kudos!

  5. with you on this with all my heart…

    Thanks for the message and waking me up..🙂 I do think I care for env.. but rately do anthing that can hv impact or change…

    Ken

  6. I held an Earth Hour event for all of the kids in my local area last year. We played football with a light up football and used glow sticks for team colours. We then headed to the local church hall to chat, eat and drink (non alcoholic – of course) by candle light. Then we wrote wishes on some flying lanterns and set them off at the end of the night. It was great and taught the kids of the importance of the moment. As the official advert says, it takes one person but that one person becomes a collective of people all doing the same thing. I think it is a great idea and support it fully!

  7. We have been experiencing a series of natural disasters from Haiti, Phillipines, Australia, NewZealand and now Japan. The earth is crying for our attention. This time we have to pay heed to her call. In a small gesture, we can help by putting off lights for an hour tomorrow. Save the earth. Happy Earth Day!

  8. I’m an internetoholic, unable to live without the internet for even a few days. Yet, I took part in earth hour last year and I intend to take part this year. Last year, a photo was taken of the earth while earth hour in different countries was going on. Parts of the earth blacked out for certain times, and those times coincided with the times earth hour was on in those countries. Just shows how many people took part last year.
    LA, where I live, was black during earth hour last year. It’s unusual for a city that’s usually filled with light. The only light I could see was the Hollywood logo. I wonder what it will be like this year.
    Congratulations on being Freshly Pressed, and just like you, I look forward to taking part in Earth Hour this year.
    Ashley, aka TheEverydayMuser
    http://www.theeverydaymuser.wordpress.com

  9. What a great idea
    Lets save some energy and all learn to cope without it so we can be ready to deal with a Japan like disaster.

    Saluté

  10. Nicee., but for me, this concepts with celebrating in the world scale, are remind us that everything can be done, if we unite together. then do it for what we fight for. of course for better life in future. not only for us, but also our next generaion..,

    so, I would say.., yes for better life.

  11. I just posted a reminder tomorrow for Earth Hour on my Facebook Page. It’s pretty intriguing to think about. I love the song in the Youtube video and the footage captured is amazing..

  12. i strongly go with lenore diane^s post as well…turning off all gadgets esp those whch are not of utmost necessity

  13. Nice… Incredible, impressive and UNIQUE…. BUT !

    BUT !

    Where is the interest if after 60 seconds it’s like before…??? Even… MORE ???

    I prefer to give 1 MINERAL BOTTLE WATER …. for poor countries …
    Do you know how many death people by 6o seconds cauz no MINERAL WATER on the WORLD ?

    NO ?

    make researches about it…

  14. Pingback: Earth Hour 2011 (via Strange Fruit) « justINlove

  15. This is really nice!🙂 Thank you so much for spreading Earth Hour. This is very inspiring. I recall for the last years in our neighborhood, I only saw 1 to 2 houses who actually supported EH. Others didn’t even know about it or bothered(since I tried convincing *whew*). *sigh* It’s kinda sad really. But, I think, this year will be a lot more different, in a good way. Excited much!🙂

    Honestly, I still have doubts regarding the truth behind Global Warming and some things about Climate Change, but regardless of that I love Earth. I consider myself Environmentalist. So, it doesn’t really matter if GW or CC issues are truth or hoaxes, I support Earth Hour because I am for Mother Earth.🙂 We’ve only got one place to live(and suitable to live in) and we need to take care of it all the time—ALL THE TIME🙂

    Just my two cents!!🙂

    Brown out kaya? Propose for Black out!😛 hmmmm*thinking* would that be bad? hahah

  16. Pingback: Earth Hour « corat coret

  17. I love earth hour and I promoted too at http://1129designorecchinigioielli.blogspot.com/2011/03/60-minuti-in-cui-giocare-non-usare.html with all the interesting/funny video promo from different countries I could find about it
    I will have a candle light dinner party… with other people around i won’t be tempted to switch on my computers😉
    I know that is not enough, but everybody can add to it some more earth friendly habit, I stopped to buy bottles of water last Xmas and bought a bubbles machine (I don’t know the name in english)… and I can see how kind of improvement is in terms of plastic garbage…
    doing little good thing is always better than doing nothing at all, I agree with you!!!!
    peace&love
    nicoletta

  18. I agree. Not only will I be turning off my lights, but I will be turning off any other electronics in my household using power as well (with the exception of maybe the fridge…that could be a gong-show!)
    I hope many people choose to participate in Earth Hour 2011.🙂

  19. I think this is a fabulous idea and I’m in! I will turn EVERYTHING off for the hour & just enjoy the silence, the night & the stars! Great post…Congrats on being Freshly Pressed! It is unimaginable what we could do if we put all our strength & solidarity together for GOOD!

  20. Pingback: Earth Hour 2011 (via Strange Fruit) « This Sleepy Owl

  21. I say switch off all lights AND computers! WordPress would be silent, but the earth would be smiling🙂

  22. Thanks for this post. I also agree with everything you said. I’m not usually one that attempts to advertise my own blog via comments, but I have a post called “It Makes You Feel Like God, Doesn’t It?” which hilights some of the facts about our planet and the human impact. It can be accessed here: http://mytravelmap.wordpress.com/2011/03/15/it-makes-you-feel-like-god-doesnt-it/

    By no means do I actually expect you to click there, but I think you’d enjoy the post if you do.

    Congrats on being Freshly Pressed! As someone who was FP’ed 2 days ago, I know what the experience is like. Thanks for sharing your post!
    – Nate

  23. Pingback: Earth Hour! «

  24. My family has participated in Earth Hour for a few years now and it’s a great thing, if only as a reminder that there is a problem and, individually, we do have the power to do something about it. I recently moved back to the U.K. and I am very happy that I can individually turn my outlets off. I only have a plug on if I’m actively using it. I’m constantly looking for ways to improve my energy consumption and am planing to start home composting soon (live in a tiny flat so small scale) although I’m not entirely sure what I’ll do with it yet. We just need to start small and hope it will spread to encompass everyone. That’s what Earth Hour is all about.
    OK, I’m off my soapbox now.

  25. Like Ghandi said, “Be the change you wish to see in the world.” And that is what Earth Hour is…being a little bit of a change, in a whole LOT of places. Nothing wrong with that at all.

    Our society is full of symbols. We base our lives around symbolic behaviors. So what if this is just one more? It sends a better message than driving to a Walmart to spend $100 on $130 worth of crap you don’t really need, selling out your country’s economy in the process.

    Lights out!

  26. On ya, Lenore! For me to turn my lights off between 8:30 and 9:30 I first have to turn them on!!! Maybe I’ll turn off the TV, my laptop and my phone, but then I won’t be part of the gig!!! Maybe I’ll just look out the window and count the lights that haven’t been turned off. Earth Hour will only have achieved success when people around the world choose not to have lights on when they are not required- I do.

  27. Ok so I’m the odd man out here. I am not a liberal by any means and will be turning my lights on, not off. I can’t comment any further about this whole “save the planet” thing without turning it into a blog. And don’t get me started on sharing! I’ve been forced to share enough on this self cleaning planet Earth as it is.
    Have you calculated how much energy that radio station you work for uses on a daily basis lately?
    Also, what time do you want the bleeding hearts to gather and sing Kumbaya?
    By the way-You did a great job writing your post. I’ll at least give you that.
    Congrats on FP.

  28. I agree with you, rather than sitting and doing nothing about it, it’s better to act and do something. Earth hour is more about showing support, it’s more about making you ‘learn’ to turn those lights OFF WHEN YOU DON’T NEED THEM’! Congrats on FP! See my post related to earth hour as well @ – http://smilesndreams.wordpress.com/

  29. Oh, so now I get what you’ve been discussing just now. Well, C, and D as well, you can’t please everyone. The important thing is you follow your heart. People will say what they wanna say. Live your life, and as long as nobody’s harming anyone, then everything’s fine. =)

  30. Great post. People don’t understand the power they have. They think one person won’t make a difference. But they do, because if everyone unites together it can make an unbelievable difference.

  31. What an absolute crock of sh#t! Do any of you fools actually believe that man can have any affect, negative or positive on this planet? You have all fallen for the biggest scam in the history of the world. This planet has warmed and cooled for millions of years, and by the way without any influence from man.
    Let me ask this: Do any of your liberal “leaders and icons” of this farce live by and practice the B.S. that they want every else to do? Let me give you a hint of what this is all about: FOLLOW THE MONEY.

  32. Thank you so much for the reminder. This 60 seconds of Earth hour is just a prof that if we can be united for a common goal and there is no possibility that we can’t achieve what we aim for.

  33. Pingback: Earth Hour 2011 (via Strange Fruit) « it's a song without word-s

  34. But it wouldn’t hurt for us as a global community to set aside an hour in a year to think about it as one.
    — so agree

    Ignorance is not a bliss in this case!
    I have posted mine as well

  35. That is such a good point. This is obviously not the solution to all the earth’s problems, but will it hurt? No!

  36. Pingback: Earth Hour 2011 (via Strange Fruit) | A year with India Leigh

  37. Pingback: EARTH HOUR | Kutarere's Blog

  38. Pingback: Earth Hour « Aeshah Adlina’s Weblog

  39. Pingback: Earth Hour 2011 (via Strange Fruit) | The Calculable

  40. For us in Myanmar, Earth Hour is not something new for us because most of the citizens who aren’t living in Yangon or Naypyitaw are probably already celebrating it due to electricity shortage lolz

  41. i agree on you here chico.
    i support this earth hour in my little ways.
    im planning to buy a bike this year and used it instead of my motorized vehicle.

  42. During “Earth Hour” I pledge to turn on EVERYTHING I own that requires the wonderful invention of electricity. Electricity should be celebrated. It brought us out of the third world and into a new era. The era of comfort and better living. It’s the greatest source of human liberation in the 20th century. We’re able to cook and refrigerate food because of cheap and abundant electricity and it’s an outrage to demonize it. We have a steady supply of hot water, available lighting, television and radio, air conditioning, and heat. Human Beings live longer BECAUSE of the advent of electricity. Try telling the ICU at your local hospital to turn off the electric for an hour and see what happens. The mission of people who celebrate “Earth Hour” is to take us back to the third world. They want us to go back to nature. Take a look at how people live after an earthquake, hurricane, or flood and you tell me how great it would be. I’ll celebrate alright.

  43. Pingback: Earth Hour 2011 (via Strange Fruit) « a.z.k.a

  44. Thank you for spreading awareness! Perhaps the greatest bottleneck of activism is misinformation or lack of information. So many people are unfamiliar with Earth Hour. As a voice for the wildlife, thank you for your post and for believing in making a difference. I also wish to thank all those who commented before me for their belief in a better world and for being the change they wish to see in the world (as modified from what Gandhi quoted).

  45. Sorry, but I’m one of the naysayers. This “grassroots” environmental effort is nothing more than window dressing and a futile way to relieve some of the cognitive dissonance we face for destroying our planet.

    What do I do? What is my better idea? Here’s a few: Ride your bike to work four times a week. Don’t buy pre-processed food. Don’t buy from Wal*Mart (the carbon footprint for cheap Chinese junk is astoundingly high). Turn off the television. Turn off your cell phones and iPads. Heck, don’t buy cell phones and iPads. Use products until they don’t work anymore. Take care of the things you have; repair them. Walk to the grocery store. Walk to church. Walk to the convenience store. Put less than 10 miles a week on your personal vehicle. Use public transportation.

    Here’s the biggest thing you can do to save the planet: Don’t have children.

    You say all this stuff is “impossible” and “inconvenient”? If so, don’t waste your time with Earth Hour. If you’re going to participate, go big. Otherwise go home and do what you do every night: wait in the comfort of your well-lit home for our gradual extinction.

    Have a nice day.

    The Gassy Guy

    • Well said. Earth Hour is the easy way. It does not achieve anything and at night time lights out for an hour while watching TV is real bright. It does not reduce the output of carbon from the various generators, though.

      A more meaningfull and sucessfull way to clean the air would be to have weekends where no vehicles with internal combustion engines are used.

      Now that would be something to see if the idea was taken up and it would actually work.

      Paul

  46. Earth hour was 3 hours ago here in the Philippines. I participated for the third straight year. =) Decided to take it a notch further by unplugging most of my electrical appliances on top of turning the lights off. Also, extended it for a second hour. Feels good to be doing something and participating in such a big event. =)

  47. Thought provoking and hopefully the world will take notice and act accordingly, as many of your readers (including myself) intend to do.

    Thanks for raising this important issue.

  48. If anyone should be participating in the earth hour, it’s the US. Just take a look how at how ridiculous their energy consumption is!

    http://www.google.com/publicdata/explore?ds=d5bncppjof8f9_&ctype=l&met_y=sp_ado_tfrt&hl=en_US&dl=en_US#ctype=l&strail=false&nselm=h&met_y=eg_use_elec_kh_pc&scale_y=lin&ind_y=false&rdim=country&idim=country:PHL:USA&hl=en&dl=en_US

    That’s per person. If you multiply the population of the US (300 million) with their energy consumption (13,638KWh) that’s a wooping 4,091,400,000,000Kwh! (four TRILLION KWh)

    In comparison with our country, (91 million)*(586.14KWh) = 53,338,740,000Kwh, (53 Billion) that’s just 1.3% compared with the US. It’s almost neglible!

  49. Of course, our one hour of dim light might help to enlighten us about growing issues that concern us. We could extend to one hour with no guns being used etc etc

    rayharris57.wordpress.com

  50. Extremely well said! While I didn’t observe it, I sort my garbage to make sure everything recyclable is placed in the recycling bin. That’s my bit for the Earth.

  51. Pingback: Hora da Terra 2011 (via Strange Fruit) | Ricardo Trevisan

  52. congratulations on being freshly pressed.
    Earth Hour is most certainly not an exercise in futility. If you look how it has grown since the initiative was started…..that will bear it out.
    It is brilliant that so many people are becoming more aware and if we each can save even just an hours worth of natural resources, then we have made a contribution.
    This raises the awareness and importance of not become selfish consumers of what are finite resources; as the man in the video said “when it runs out….there is no-one to bail us out”
    I try to make my own little ‘earth minutes’ every day since this initiative first came to my attention…..
    besides when we black out all the lights that shine heavenwards…then we can appreciate the beauty of god’s creation….the night sky.
    great post.
    Regards
    Cindy in London
    @notjustagranny

  53. Pingback: Earth Hour 2011 (via Strange Fruit) | Top world news online

  54. I believe we’ve all become this generation of technology and unfortunately many of us have lost touch with the human experience. I am almost 37 and have always been told I was born in the wrong era, I still love to mail out hand-written letters! We need to step back a little, and take time to appreciate all we have. Go for a hike or just spend some time outside and really, really look at the beauty that nature offers. Go to a zoo and allow yourself to be mesmerized by the curiosities of the animals. Yes, by all means… turn off your electronics, your lights, if even for an hour! Be kind to this planet, that supports our existence! Check our my blog, destiny2b.wordpress.com Thank you for writing about something so important!

  55. Good work. Trouble is that like those middle Eastern countries the USA has it’s own dictatorship going on.

    The big corporations have already bought us and are now selling us out. We need to kill the oppressor at its root (Corporate Personage) Sign up for “Move to Amend” and let’s get back to where we came from – democracy of the people, by the people and for the people.

  56. If everyone could participate, it would also show how WE can be united for a common purpose—that is saving the planet. A little goes a long way, ika nga. Bawat isang tao lang ang magbigay ng Piso, marami nang mapapakain; what more kung magtipid for just one hour sa ilaw, right?

  57. Agree with you. A friend of mine would like to know some reasons beyond the action, though she’s actually participated on the event, earth hour, last night. And your blog posting can add up some reason for her. Thanks.😉

  58. Pingback: Earth Hour 2011 (via Strange Fruit) « ch4toer

  59. Pingback: Earth Hour 2011 « kire1

  60. we need to start to think “green”. Also, the IT produce contamination to our planet .. so try to turn on ur pc just when is necesary and turn of when u dont need it or just leave the house, the same history with the printer. We have now a lot e-waste in the world to continue indiscriminately killing the planet.

  61. Earth Hour is a great start to cut down the emission and spare the nature. However, what about the other 364 days? If we look at Africa, they have earth hour the year around while the rich western countries uses so much power that it looks like a beacon for spaceships. In my opinion, earth hour doesn’t help much compared to how much electricity we really use but it is a start and we need to continue improving our methods to spare nature and humanity.

  62. General Scoffer here, reporting for duty! I scoff because it is ONE hour! Are you kidding me? What am I doing? Oh, well, I’ve lived at multiple communities aspiring to be more sustainable and ecological. You might call them ecovillages. Maybe you’ve heard about them? My suggestion – shut down Times Square for one YEAR! To start. Thank you for listening.

  63. I love celebrating Earth Hour. We’ve done it every year for the last 3 years. Sitting by candle light and playing board games is so much fun! There really is something to that saying ‘every little bit counts.’

  64. My school’s Environmental Club turned off the lights in our student center and sang songs and read poetry by candlelight🙂

  65. Pingback: Celebrate Earth Hour « prjade

  66. “It’s better than doing nothing” is a an interesting argument.

    For a start it sets up the false opposition between doing the thing in question (in this case participating in ‘earth hour’) and doing nothing. But this automatically rules out the possibility of doing something else which is neither ‘earth hour’ or ‘nothing’.

    Remember Live Aid and Live8? How could anybody criticize those events? At the very, very least they were better than doing nothing, right? …. But so what? It didn’t even begin to solve African poverty did it. Neither events made any mention of the ROOT CAUSES of the poverty in Africa such as the crippling actions of the banking elite and corporations such as cajoling (often corrupt) leaders into accepting unaffordable loans to get them into debt and then have them pay it off by selling their much needed recourses overseas.

    Come on everyone wave your hands inthe air and shout “make poverty history” with Madonna!

    (after all…. it’s better than doing nothing)

    COme on everyone switch off your lights for an hour and upset balance of the electricity grid while you’re at it and psychologically prepare yourself for the rolling blackouts which even experts say are to come if the governments keep up their INSANE energy policies of so called ‘renewables’ which are not even green and are just another money making scam just like everything else… (check out my blog for details)!

    (after all…. it’s better than doing nothing)

    Sheeple! All of you Baaaaa! Baaaa!😉

  67. Wow…sad to see a few people on here so negative. But it was great to see on the news so many cities contributing to Earth hour and the amount of energy it saved. The tip of an iceberg. Good to see the majority of people on here who really do care!!! So cool.

  68. Pingback: Earth hour? « Perk-another shot of expresso please

  69. I sure turned the lights out even for one hour. Lets all of us become more conscious that without these simple act of saving energy there will be no future for our planet since people care more abou energy as a way to make money instead of something we all should preserve and use in a good way. Money wont let us breath when the lungs of the earth and the sun is gone. Oil its like the blood of the earth and the earth is all of us its like a human body when attacked. Its starting to react and lets hope never stops, but instead we can all stop be bad to ourselves and all mankind.

    Share, Breath and Care 4 each other

    PEACE ***

  70. wow chico. your post made it to the main page of freshly pressed!

    Anyway, I share your sentiments, we can at least give it a try.

    But the earth will change with or without humans. As one professor said in his lecture, the earth is changing ever since, and we could have been (or not) a catalyst to this change. So it will change continuously with or with out human intervention. The only question now is what will happen to us humans and to this the professor answered: “We should not worry, more evolved and advanced creatures may (or may not) supersede us. Look what happened to the dinosaurs.” (lol)

    Anyway, we could extend this effort on a daily basis, not just for one hour in a year. I think there are simple ways to help.
    🙂

  71. I am so happy your post was freshly pressed, and that you have so many positive comments here! It is so refreshing to see. We took part last night, and lit some candles. My two young children loved it so much they asked if we could have Earth Hour again tonight!

  72. The peanut gallery has never been the source of either the solutions or the inspirations for. Like they say, if we can’t be part of the solution, at least don’t stand in the way of those trying.

  73. Pingback: Daily Reading – Day 20: Earth Hour, Global Warming and The Environment « Abdullah Syed

  74. I too agree with you, I strongly support all the small initiatives taken in order to bring some kind of change. After all something is better than nothing.

  75. I did turned off all the electricity in my house. I felt proud of myself, cause I believe small things can make a big changes somehow. Glad to see there are still so many people who participate in this program. We all know the earth is changing whether there are human interventions or not, but if there’s something we can do to help the earth to slow down from changing and maybe try to reverse it (if there’s a way), then why not. I’m 17 years old, I live in Jakarta, Indonesia, now I’m trying to make a non government organization to develop the education in Jakarta, of course we need to raise the money and as soon as we settled with all of the preparations and already make an account, I’ll inform it to the world and I hope everyone can help us with this programs, by donate just a little of your money to help kids to get the education they deserve.

  76. Pingback: 地球一小時 Earth Hour 2011 | A dialogue with Dialogue in the Dark HK

  77. Hi Chico,

    I just want to commend you for spreading the Earth Hour. It means a lot to a symbolic (or should I say influential) person to influence others in taking care of Mother Earth. One concern though on some of the Earth hour affairs. I think you have seen the celebration at the MOA, me sound system setup, etc. What I’m saying is that, they could have saved more electricity had the sound system, glamorous countdowns, etc. were minimized. Just a thought.

  78. IN fact, turn off one hour of electricity around the world is a lot, it’s symbolic but also as real as it is.

  79. Pingback: Earth Hour 2011 « Kakabakaba Ka Ba?

  80. Pingback: Save the World « Livant Enterprises' Blog

Leave a Reply

