53 comments on “The Pinoy Image Abroad (The “Good”, And The “Bad”)

  1. Good point on Lee Da Hae issue. I guess it is just irritating because we all know for a fact that we are better than them when it comes to English… but I guess, she’s just one of ’em celebrities trying to be funny and popular. We all know the truth anyway so it’s all good.

  2. What makes it all the worse for me is the accent, we don’t have that accent, the chinese or the japanese have that accent. Make the accent right before making fun of it…

    • We would like to think that we have at least a neutral accent when we speak in the English language but I’ve been told that we have the same accent as Italians🙂

  3. Lee Da Hae already apologizes for the misunderstanding:

    her tweet states:
    On Wednesday 3rd November 2010, @cherry4eva84 said:

    First I’d like to give you my sincere apologies for what seems to be a misunderstanding.

    It has come to my attention that many of you from the Philippines have posted comments protesting that i was being derisive by mimicking Filipinos when they speak English.

    Therefore, in light of this matter I’d like to take this opportunity to clear the air.
    In spite of what many people believe, I myself did NOT mention anything
    about the Philippines or Filipino accent whilst on the TV show.

    On the other hand I recall bringing up Southeast Asia and not the Philippines and the subtitles were inserted when the show was being edited of which I was not aware of until it was aired.

    The TV show where this footage was taken from was designed to amuse its audience and my sole purpose was to entertain the viewers by coming up with lighthearted stories.

    Since the producer knows that i speak English he asked me if I could
    share any episodes that touch upon the English language.

    As we all know every country has a typical accent when its people speak English (including myself) so after giving it some thought, I came up with a few lines where I simply tried to compare different English accents: the somewhat rigid British accent and beginners in Southeast Asia whose English tends to be a little hard-edged. No pun or ridicule was intended.

    As an individual who use to take English classes over the phone with a Filipino instructor, I give you my word that even the mere thought of mocking Filipinos would never cross my mind.
    I cannot tell you how much Filipino fans mean to me and as much as I love them, I would in no way
    hurt or upset them.

    I hope I have clarified any misunderstandings and once again I am truly sorry if I inadvertently
    hurt anyone’s feelings.

    -i really love you, my Filipino fans..

  4. Pinanood ko yung video sa Youtube and some of the comments there were really nasty. Personally, I didn’t find this insulting at all. It was done purely out of fun. It’s not like she was being a racist or anything.

  5. Now I’m curious is she can speak good english aside from “I’m thirsty. Can I have a glass of water, please.”

  6. Now I’m curious if she can speak good english aside from “I’m thirsty. Can I have a glass of water, please?”

  7. She already apologized!!!

    Take a look.

    http://www.allkpop.com/2010/11/lee-da-hae-makes-an-apology-to-filipinos-for-her-imitation

    I do it all the time. I do impressions of different accents to entertain my friends.
    if you guys are familiar with Korean variety shows then you’ll understand that this is all for laughs. I’m not saying that this is ok. By some extent it is insulting but don’t blow it out of proportion. Try watching Korean shows and you’ll see that Koreans would always acknowledge our English skills.

  8. What she did didn’t really pass as funny to me but it wasn’t offensive either. We do have a minority who speak that way… does that make them less of a person? My husband, who is American, was very amused at how good and conscious we are about grammar that we tend to make fun of each other. Heck, I spell and write better than him. He agrees with me . As for the accent, he once said, everyone has it. What’s the big deal?🙂

  9. Pingback: https://chicogarcia.wordpress.com/2010/11… « Derek's Cut

  10. Thanks for posting this, Chico. We Filipinos are very touchy. I read Lee’s apology and it seemed sincere. How about Mai Mislang? How about d philippine govt shrugging off d quirino hostage taking as something we may laugh at after a few years? Claire Danes earned our ire for calling Manila a ghastly place when many of us ourselves wouldn’t brave d streets of Manila after 10pm. We bristle everytime we felt insulted yet we didnt show much respect either. Pinoy nga naman.

  11. i got wind of this via fb and my former and present ESL colleagues are all fuming about this. when i watched the video, it wasn’t very filipino. then i read her apology. it was acceptable. my friend said that she was asked the ‘southeast asian accent’ and not necessarily filipino. however, our flag was put on screen during editing (lee said so in her apology).

    my reaction was anger at first but then i realized same things like chico’s as well as phoebe’s and rose’s.

    there sure must have been a misunderstanding.

  12. Pingback: The Pinoy Image Abroad (The “Good”, And The “Bad”) (via Strange Fruit) | soupquakefacewater

  13. She has apologized but the video belied her claim of ‘misunderstanding’. Shin Dong Yup, one of the hosts said ‘Philippines’ in his own ‘accent’. This negated Lee’s claim. Instead of pacifying Filipinos, especially those who are ESL Teachers, this just marked another ‘crime’ in the name of Lee. She simply underestimated Filipinos’ apprehension by watching the video.

    • it’s true that the MC had asked about the Philippines, but when Lee Da Hae replied, she did clearly state Southeast Asia (동남아/dongnama).

  14. for me, it’s a no biggie. we tend to be too sensitive that we sometimes don’t know how to laugh at ourselves. lighten up!😀

    parang tayo din yan just like chico said. we like doing the bisaya, ilocano, kapampangan, chinese accents. don’t forget the the indian accent (!)…

      • I’m Ilocano. There are two kinds of /r/’s: The rhotic and the non-rhotic /r/. It so happen that what is present to Filipino sound is the rhotic /r/ because of the influence of the Spanish language. To conclude that Ilocanos speak that way is a form of IGNORANCE and STEREOTYPING because you should know the phonetical and phonological features of between 120-175 languages (depending on how they are classified) in the Philippines before concluding such.

        Let’s meet and I’ll show you how I speak.

        I hope that can enlighten your mind.

        (peace)

      • ahahahah…you are very wrong my dear….haven’t you learned the evolution of the English language? the rhotic “R'” shows a new kind of English nd that is the Spanish English…..

      • actually bago lang sa akin ang word na rhotic, and i googled it pero di ko pa rin maintindihan – mas maganda nga siguro na kapag pinag uusapan ang mga bagay tungkol sa accent, phonetics, and phonologic eh hindi lang binabasa, dapat may kasamang tenga – pinakikingan mo ang salita or even mata, tignan mo rin kung paano at saan pinupwesto ang dila sa loob ng bibig – possible yon kung makikipag meet nga ako syo, pero ang sinasabi ko

        di mahirap na makilala ang ilokano dahil meron syang distinct accent lalo na sa pag bigkas ng R sa mga word na

        inquirer, bumper to bumper, and cracker.

        mag hanap ka ng random na tao sa kalsada,

        ipabasa mo lang ang inquirer, cracker, Panagbenga, nakermet, pinakbet – madali mo silang mahuhuli. Ipabasa mo sa akin ito, lalabas ang ilokano accent ko. Now, kung may ibang tao, na gagayahin ang accent ng ilokano for comedy show, or for entertainment at di naman para manginsulto, DI AKO MAG BABALAT SIBUYAS.

        So di ko alam kung bakit di mo nagets ang simpleng comment ko considering na isa ka ring ilokano, instead ay pinili mong maging teknikal – well, what i do know nga naman sa rhotic at nonrhotic, pero the last time na umuwi ako sa lola ko sa Pangasinan, nagkakaintindihan naman kami sa pag uusap namin. At pag sya ay nag tatagalog, nakakatawa, but i dont mind.

  15. Mag boxing nalang- KOrean vs. Filipino… matira ang matibay! hahaha! C’mon each one has accent, each one has its strengths and weakness it just so happen some likes to bully each other to conceal its weakness…. shame….. on the otherside are we really that bored to care on those nonesense shows…. lighten up there’s other things worth more important of our attention.

  16. on second thought, its pretty flattering na kahilera natin americans & brits. Ibig sabihin, ina-acknowledge nila ang galing ng pinoy sa english, if not she or they would have mentioned other countries na kilala as english-speaking countries i.e canadians or di nmn kaya indians.

  17. hehehe.. tingin ko parang case to ng African Americans na gumagamit ng “N” word nila.. pag sila sila nagtatawagan nun ok lang.. pero pag iba ang tumawag sa kanila.. ahh ibang usapan na un.. siguro ok lng na tayo tayo maglokohan ng sarili nating mga punto (may impit sa o).. at kung lokohan talaga ang context ng usapan.. kung hindi.. mdjo nakakainis nga.

    • I agree with R3v’s comment. Eto rin reaction ko eh. It’s similar to the “N” word issue. When a Filipino does the mocking, ok lang, but when it comes from people of a different nationality, parang insulto. When I went to Cebu a couple of years back, they had a fun time mocking their own accent and had a blast mocking mine. Two things: we need to be more aware of the differences in culture and see the lighter side of it. Nakakatawa naman talaga ah. And, we have to be tolerant of others. There’s mockery for fun and there’s mockery with malice.

  18. I’d just like to comment on the Korean insulting our English accent. I used to be an English teacher and my students were Korean nationals. To be honest, they have such an awful way of speaking English. If they’re that great, then why should they come here and study English? Sometimes they’re that foolish.

  19. Well, I felt disgusted!!! I’m a Freelance English Teacher for KOreans… I deal with them everyday!!! And I certainly know how they look down at PINOYS.. They don’t even bother to respect their “teachers”.. What LEE DA HAE said was insulting for me… If that’s what she thinks about Filipino Teachers, then why the hell there are bunch of KOREANS here in the PHILIPPINES to study ENGLISH!!??! She definitely doesn’t know what she’s talking about!!! =)

  20. lol. everyone here’s amusing. good observation though, pestoed! Philippines is known for its people’s fluency in English. let other nations comment on this one, and please, if you’re going to post a comment, please make sure there’s no single grammatical error so we could prove our point and get the message across.;)

  21. Yes we’re probably all guilty of mocking something. But on national TV? Do they encourage that kind of idiotic show? Poor Koreans!

    I read her apology and thought it was… stupid. Hehe. For one, she said in her apology that she didn’t mention the Philippines. Here’s an excerpt: “I myself did NOT mention anything about the Philippines or Filipino accent whilst on the TV show.”

    Err… it doesn’t make sense because she still took part in making fun of Filipinos when the host made her mimic a Filipino teacher.

Leave a Reply

