21 comments on “Inception

  1. I have read so much about the movie and you’re right that what it makes really more interesting…one critic even say that it’s actually more fun to talk and discuss about it than actually watching it..
    I myself honestly got lost in some parts of the movie and would want to watch it again… I loved it because what of what it did to my brain and it got me thinking..
    check this out… one of the best of so many discussions about the film on the net…

    http://blogs.suntimes.com/scanners/2010/07/inception_again_two_shots_and.html

  2. Inception is rich, complex movie and no one should feel bad if they didn’t “get it.” Unless Nolan spills the full explanation of what the movie is all about, everyone should be happy with what they take away from the film. Isn’t that the beauty of a great movie?

  3. When I first saw it, it felt like it was your usual brain film from Christopher Nolan. I was ready to accept the normal flow of the film. And then, I started hearing and reading about the different interpretations of the film and now, I don’t want to watch it again for the moment, it is starting to get through my skin. And I love it.

    There is an interesting interpretation that I got from a friend. That most of the film was Ariadne’s dream. If you’d notice, she was introduced as someone who is highly advanced for her level, much like Cobb’s level, of intelligence. She is a fantastic architect and she was aware of Cobb’s “problem”.

    And aren’t we lucky that this year, we have a film that would define 2010.

    I do hope an Oscar nomination or even a win for this film.

    Kudos to all those who love Inception!

  4. finally! a movie that got us all thinking and talking and thinking and talking ;)) it’s so authentic, raw and enjoyable with its many levels and textures… amazing movie! loved the cast as well.

  5. i actually think that five levels would make sense. but then again, as this is Nolan’s style, it’s all about perception; how you perceive everything works (or doesn’t) and falls into place (or doesn’t). that’s the beauty of this film, as well as some of his other films – enabling the audience to participate actively in the storytelling and giving them the ability to “personalize” it. whatever you believe in will make sense so as long as you find points that rationalize it.

    i’m just reminded by some things that Cobb himself pointed out during the mission – limbo is a vast land of subconscious that if one lands in limbo, the remnants of the creation of a dreamer who had gone there before would likely be found and at the same time, because of it’s vastness, it enables someone who goes there to build a world of his own. ergo, it is possible that there would be no need to “go down” another level. and on the idea of Saito aging, my theory is that once you’re in limbo, have limitless power to manipulate everything, so if you choose to accept limbo as your reality, you could let yourself live and age there or not age at all. it could even be applicable to all dream levels, as the deeper you go, the longer time runs and expires. if we were to strictly follow this principle alone, then aging should have occurred at the very least in Arthur’s level. add to that the idea of escape, which is an entire subject unto itself. in order to get out limbo, there must be a conscious act of killing. but all of this simply follows the assumption of the presence of reality within the film. if one believes otherwise, then there would be an entire set of explanations about how everything was just a dream.

    i personally have four theories to the whole ending, two of which are the inverse concept of limbo (this time, reality supersedes the dream instead of the other way around) and the irrelevance of whether all of it happened or not, since the most essential thing was somehow, Cobb had done what he set out to do and got what he wanted in the end be it for real or otherwise. i’m one of those who believe everything happened and everything was real in the end because anything beyond that would cause my brain to melt. i choose to err on the side of simplicity, hahaha. but there’s nobody wrong on this one, i think. if you love it, you love it. and if you don’t love it, then you don’t, and you don’t have to.

  6. Loved the movie because it made me think. I think I got it but after hearing some opinions, I think I don’t really got it.

    By the way, you mentioned that in the movie, Cobb’s kids looked the same. Well, I thought they did too but if you are going to check the cast, 2 actors played Phiippa as well as James.

  7. Ok, I thought I “got” it, but reading this entry made me re-think what I did “get”. Oh Chico, now you confused me 😦

    But I still love Inception =)

  8. My husband and I saw the film last week. It’s okay for me, not loving it but not hating it either. Just your usual recreation for me. Not because of its intellectual approach nor its concepts-trying-to-turn-into-graphics film making. I get the “deepness” of it but I guess I found the film a bit emotion-less through no fault of its own. The actors are great but somehow, it did not move me.

  9. if i were one of the six in the crew, i’d like to be the architect! and for the record, i may not get it after hearing the bruhaha, but i’m more than willing to engage into hours of conversation just for the fun of it. :))

  10. It is so interesting how so many people has their own take about the movie. I myself thought differently. And yes, with all the analyses & theories going around, I find asking myself, “did I miss something?”. I was “fully engaged” (as Delle had put it) as well. Hmmmmm….attention to details. Sometimes we get all caught up in the details, we tend to lose the big picture.

    It’s better to have a more spontaneous discussion…my colleagues and I didn’t really agree as to who got it or didn’t. For me, I focused on the significance of the totem (in Cobb’s case, the top, which was Mal’s totem), the “Fisher” mission. They needed to get into his sub-conscious to get/steal information. Mal was dead, Cobb had to deal or let go of the guilt for “killing” his wife or having drove her to insanity. Adrainne is the architect of the dream / maze. Also, at the start of the movie, Saito found out his was dreaming within a dream because of the carpet. Guy architect out, brilliant Adriane in. And so on…

    After all the discussions I had, – it was an open battlefield. I wanted other friends and colleagues to watch it as well…I want to know if they understood it the way I did. If not, I want to know how they took the whole experience. I enjoyed the movie very much, as much as I enjoy discussing it.

  11. Saw this movie twice.. and I realize, it’s actually a simple movie.. we’re just making it more complicated the more we analyze it. Regarding the kids… same clothes pa rin ba? hmmm.. i’m not sure ha (kahit twice ko na napanood?! lol).. pero parang nag-iba yung damit ng girl.. dun kasi sa nakikita ni Cobb, nakapink lang yung bata.. pero sa last part, white and pink na… verify ko na lang ulit! 😀

  12. HAVE YOU SEEN NOLAN’S MEMENTO? ITS ONE OF HIS EARLIER WORKS IT STARS GUY PEARCE ITS ONE TRULY BRAIN TWISTING MOVIE. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT TO EVERYBODY. NOLAN AT HIS BEST 🙂

  13. I think the last part about Cobb seeing is kids is real. How? Some said there was some sort of cutscene at the end of the credits. Not really a scene but just a sound. A sound implying that the Totem had stopped spinning, which proves the fact that the last scene is in fact real.

    • yeah that’s what one of my colleague said, you have to stay a bit to hear the totem stopped spinning but no pictures just the sound

  14. It’s so great, when they start showing the credits, half of the audience are still in their seats — talking about the movie!

    You’re right! I agree with you. It is one of the greats!
    However, I do want to know what the real deal is. I don’t think knowing it will affect this movie’s “level of greatness,” anyway.

    Will definitely get an original DVD for this one and I hope they include specials such as interviews with the writer and director.

    Chico, alam mo ba, I keep on thinking about that scene where Mal and Cobb were lying down on the train tracks? That scene haunts me before I sleep. I think I’ve been inception-ized too much by this movie!

Leave a comment