29 comments on “Father’s Day 2010

  1. Upon reading this, we must all be very grateful to our fathers out there for their love and support for their kids. Let us cherish all the times that we can spend altogether.

  2. chico, :_(

    “When he breathed his last, I too breathed a sigh of relief and release.”
    “…we never stop hurting when we lose someone we loved all our lives. We just get used to it.” -likewise. for my grandparents & pets though.

    glad u got through it. demise of a loved one = my worst fear.

    I believe “they” can still see/hear us from heaven, so…😉

    (>”<)babyjen

  3. oh chico, that made me cry…yes, we never get over the loss of a loved one, we only get used to the pain and try to move on in life even without them…

    i guess the dearly departed watch over us. you make your dad proud when you make all of us happy every morning.

    belated happy father’s day to all the dads, including my dad, even if he doesn’t use the computer nor surf the net…

  4. teary-eyed. u looked like ur father chico. i know, he’s still watching u from above.😉

  5. I feel the same way chico my Papa SuperDingdong left us a day after my birthday it’s really painful to lose someone we love😦

  6. Hi Chico,

    My husband and I never fail to listen to your show “the morning rush” every morning as we drive to work. Our morning wouldn’t be complete without you guys. This morning I heard Delle mentioned about your father’s day blog, I got curious. As I read it tears started to fall especially with these words ” But until now, memories and images of him gasping for breath, his voice become shrill like a child’s, him calling out to his mom and dad while we were in the ambulance, still haunt me to this very day.”

    I know exactly how you feel, I lost my dad 11 yrs ago, but up to this very day I get emotional everytime I hear/read stories about Dads perhaps I miss my dad so badly. Thanks for sharing this to everyone, It made me remember my good times with my dad.

    More power to you and Delle and Be-lated Happy Birthday!!🙂

  7. this is why browsing the internet during office hours is prohibited… how will i now explain to my boss why i’m crying? that i cried because of the endless numbers i see on my monitor? lol.

    chico, i don’t know how (because i still have my father), but i feel you when you said that you miss your dad so much. i guess it’s because i often hear your stories about your dad during the show, how he spoiled you, how he carried you in his arms when you go “tulog-tulogan” in your car.

    i just never thought i’d read this kind of entry from you😦

  8. i admire your courage of showing your emotion here.. your dad is lucky to have u.. u give honor to his name… thanks for sharing this..

  9. it is true that we never stop hurting if we lose someone we love when they die be it a parent or a grand parent, moreso, a child. I lost my son Gjay in a freak accident in Pasadena, CA last April 2008 and it still hurts a lot…the pain won’t go away…i just get used to it!!! I miss my son soooo much…I can still smell his breath…(smells like milk) his neck…and stinky feet…Its really hard to cope up if one of our loved one goes before us…

  10. Hi Chico! I am at the office when i read this article but i couldn’t help it. i really cried. =( i felt so much emotion coming from your message. I’m even crying while writing this reply (buti na lang, medyo isolated ako sa area ko).

    Btw, i’ve been a silent rusher for years and a consistent reader of your wonderful blog.

    Siguro kaya ako sobrang natouch sa article mo is becasue i’ve been through the same situation. my daddy passed away last September 11, 2003 after being in a coma for 7 months. It was such a hard time for our family. I am an only child and a certified daddy’s girl. Seeing my daddy, who was always been very vibrant and full of life and who i always look up to, so weak and helpless is just too much to bear. However, in my case, i cannot show any sign of weakness and i definitely cannot shed tears in front of my mom. If she sees me in such an emotional state, she breaks down. I’m her strength. i need to be strong for both of us. We’ve lead such a patriarchal family then. So when he died, it’s as if we also died with him. We don’t know how to live our live without him there. But together with my mom and lola, we tried our best to continue on with our lives. My dad gave great emphasis on the value of a good education so he made it a point to enroll me in such prestigious schools such as Benedictine Abbey School (no San Beda Alabang) and De Lasallae University-taft. Though we’re not really rich, he did everything he could to sustain my education in those schools. Oh how i wish he’s still here para ma-reap na nya ang pinaghirapan nya. I am proud to say that i’m now a CPA (he was a CPA Lawyer when he was still alive) by profession and is now working for Del Monte Phils. Inc.

    After having gone through that ordeal, i felt that i could go through anything na. nothing, i mean nothing, can be harder than losing the reason for your being.

    It will be already 7 years this year since his death, but i still miss him terribly and i will never stop loving the #1 man in my life. No one will ever ever take his place. Now, i am just thankful that God has given me such a wonderful daddy, no matter how short the time was.

    Sorry napahaba na yung reply ko. Don’t know where else i could get in touch with you eh. In essence, what i mean to tell you is that i know how you feel and that di ka nagiisa. rest assured that i will be forever a fan of yours and delle. =) Godbless!

  11. I feel the same Chico, my father died this June 2, 2010 (it’s also my parents wedding anniversary) and being a father myself I was looking forward to celebrating Father’s day with him. Since I had kids of my own we always spent father’s day at my parents house. Now I miss him, we miss him… I just hope that I’ll be half as a good a father as him.

  12. lagi kaming nag-aaway ng dad ko…. lagi akong galit sa kanya
    but after reading this, you made me realize kung gaano xa kalaking kawalan sa buhay ko…

  13. nakakaiyak…nakaka-touch, laging kumikirot ang sakit.

    thank you chico for sharing with us, rushers (i’m a silent rusher) and your blogger followers, a very personal part of your life, your Dad, God Bless his soul🙂 you’re a reflecting image of your Dad, his memory lives through you and your family

    i’m learning more and more to appreciate both of my parents. minsan, puno ng drama, but i have to remind myself that i’m very lucky to still have them, my family, and cherish all the moments i have and will have more with them

    we recently lost my Kuya — it’s my 8-yr and 3-yr-old nephew & niece who have lost their Father so early in life. my nephew’s birthday coincides w/ Father’s Day celebration, this year was the first one we celebrated it with his Papa in Heaven, we all miss him very much, we’re a family stronger now and sticking out for one another

    • p.s. “sabay hirit ng: chico, kelan ka ba kase magiging tatay, bukod sa pets mo? para naman mabati ka na rin namin ng Happy Father’s Day *winks* wala lang, pangpa-lighten up🙂 “

  14. “I guess we never stop hurting when we lose someone we loved all our lives. We just get used to it.”……I agree, Chico……

  15. Hi Chico,

    We almost had the same experience. I was 28 when our Tatay passed in 2009. Late 2008, He was diagnosed with stage 4 cancer of the liver that already spread to the lungs and other parts of his body. Good thing we still got to celebrate Christmas and New Year with him, but on January 6, 2009, he left us for good. We miss him so much. And me being the only son (I have 6 sisters), I looked up to my dad so much and was really sad to see the only male role model in our house gone in just a few months.

  16. Hi Chico,

    We almost had the same experience. I was 28 when our Tatay passed in 2009. Late 2008, He was diagnosed with stage 4 cancer of the liver that already spread to the lungs and other parts of his body. Good thing we still got to celebrate Christmas and New Year with him, but on January 6, 2009, he left us for good. We miss him so much. And me being the only son (I have 6 sisters), I looked up to my dad so much and was really sad to see the only male role model in our house gone in just a few months.

  17. buti ka pa naintay ng papa mu ang birthday mu.. ako 9 days before my birthday umalis papa ko.. and on my birthday nagpasiam kami instead of celebrating my birthday.. now.. sobrang favorite ko na ung wake me up when sept ends…

  18. i feel your pain chico… my dad passed away yesterday…. and its the most hurtful thing i ever had. no matter how much you prepare yourself for this day coz eventually we all are gonna go there eventually… still painful big time chico.

    • It will take a while to get over the pain, but give your grief time to express itself. I lost my sister last feb and its no less painful now.

Leave a Reply

